caminante haciendo camino
seussentential!
2004-03-02 | 6:30 p.m.

Ok. I�ll admit it. I�m a water snob. I�ll only drink bottled water. None of that crap that pours forth from the tap for me.

Imagine my dismay when I read that one of the more popular brands of bottled water actually comes from taps. Sure, this is British tap water, sold to British markets. But they can�t fool me any longer. I�m sure that the bottled water sold in the U.S. is probably tap water from Mud Lick, Kentucky or Flushing, New York or Pukwana, South Dakota or some such place.

Will this keep me from paying $1.50 a bottle? Most certainly not. Will I continue to believe that the bottled water tastes so much better than what comes from the tap? Definitely. It comes from a bottle after all. A bottle with a pretty picture of a sparkling mountain stream. I like my illusions, thank you very much.

* * *

Today is the 100th anniversary of Dr. Seuss� birth. It�s a Seussentential!

Dr. Seuss was such a huge part of my childhood. I don�t know if kids now love him as much as we did. I�m trying to introduce both Carissa and Rianna to Dr. Seuss. Rianna is a bit young. But Carissa is just the right age. She loves her Cat in the Hat Book, but her fascination is still more with the illustrations (which are certainly fabulous), rather than the wonderful language. While I love the way Dr. Seuss played with the English language, bending it and twisting it until it was just right.

In celebration of Dr. Seuss� 100th, here are some of my favorite seussims:

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. / You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You're on your own, and you know what you know. /And you will be the guy who'll decide where you'll go. /Oh the places you'll go. (From OH, THE PLACES YOU'LL GO!.)

Don't give up. I believe in you all. A person's a person no matter how small. (From Horton Hears a Who.)

Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try. (From OH, THE THINKS YOU CAN THINK!.)

I meant what I said and I said what I meant--An elephant's faithful, one hundred percent! (From HORTON HATCHES THE EGG.)

Unless someone like you care a whole lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not. (From THE LORAX.)

* * *

In other news, I think I unintentionally misled someone and now I have to set things to rights. I�m not looking forward to it. There are sure to be hurt feelings. But it must be done.

* * *

Tonight is another all female �power dinner.� It�s the same group as last week. With that kind of spectacular company, the night is sure to involve fascinating conversation. But if I don�t want to be late for dinner, I better get going.



Listening To: Mana, "Clavado en un bar"
Reading: cases on diversity jurisdiction -- oh, the joy!
Feeling: regretful

last entry next entry