caminante haciendo camino
weekend wrap-up
2004-02-29 | 10:49 p.m.

The weekend is winding down. It was a good one. I could have probably done with more productivity work-wise, but I had family commitments to attend to and Oscars to watch, so my work time was limited. I did manage several fruitful hours of work yesterday and again this afternoon. And I�ll likely work a bit more before wrapping up the weekend.

But work will always be busy. And if I don�t learn how to inject some balance now, early in my career, then I will surely end up one of those lawyers who see more of their secretaries than they do of their children. (Not that I have any children, or even plan on having any children. But, in any event, I don�t want to end up a friendless, family-less legal work drone.)

So, with this in mind, I cut out of the office early yesterday to attend a surprise birthday lunch for my cousin Elizabeth. Liz is steady and reliable. She was like a second mother to her four younger siblings. I think she�s been an adult since she was about 11. And because she is always busy taking care of everyone else, we often forget to take care of her. Even for her birthday, she always takes charge and get�s things taken care of by planning her own birthday get-togethers before anyone can even buy her a cake. This year, we finally managed to surprise her with a birthday lunch at The Cheesecake Factory. It was fun and Liz was blown away; it was completely worth the late nights that the afternoon away from the office is going to cost me.

Today, I spent the morning enjoying the wonderfulness that is my niece, Rianna. I reluctantly dragged myself away around noon to get some work done. But I couldn�t forgo the Oscars. Here are a few thoughts on this year�s award show:

� Was Rene Zellweger on speed, or what? My goodness, that woman was talking fast. I thought I was going to hyperventilate just listening to her.

� I think Liv Tyler has conclusively established that glasses can be really sexy.

� Sting, as always looked damn hot. I�m not sure what instrument he was playing, but I am sure I wasn�t the only woman thinking that she�d like to be stroked by him the same way.

� Was that a sheet tied with a sash that Uma Thurman was wearing?

� Charlize Theron thanked her lawyer. How cool is that?!?!

� Bill Murray got screwed. His performance in Lost in Translation was spectacular.

� Although Johnny didn�t win, he was clearly the sexiest man in the room. Arrrrgh!

� It was a clean sweep. The Lord of the Rings, The Return of the King was the night�s big winner. Eleven nominations, eleven wins. Deservedly so.

Some final notes on the weekend . . .

My ass-shrinkage efforts are thus far not being reflected on the scale. No loss, no gain, again this week. But I was really amused by the lady at the Weight Watchers meeting wearing a Free Martha t-shirt. What the hell? Since when were the Free Tibet bumber stickers replaced by liberation cries on behalf of the bitch of domesticity? For gods sakes, she�s being criminally prosecuted in a court of law, with a high-paid team of lawyers and full constitutional protections. We�re not talking about being overrun by foreign occupiers, here. And does no one have any faith in the jury system any more? In any case, the t-shirt was amusing.

My grandmother has set a date for her wedding. April 24th will be the big day. This is actually a story that deserves telling in a separate space. I�ll try to get to it this week.

That just about wraps up my weekend. I should get myself to bed as this coming week is sure to be chaotic and exhausting in every way.



Listening To: the evening news
Reading: nothing
Feeling: sleepy

last entry next entry