caminante haciendo camino
friday
2004-02-20 | 2:47 p.m.

I�m very glad that it�s Friday. Although, I have to wonder why I get so excited about the weekend when so many of my weekends are spent working instead of doing weekendy things. Go figure. But just the idea of a work-free Saturday or Sunday, illusory as it may be, is enough to make the afternoon seem bearable right now.

In truth, this weekend should be a pretty good one. Although I�ll have to trudge into the office for a few hours on Sunday, tomorrow is going to be spent drinking mead, eating cinnamon roasted almonds, and watching silly performers at the Renaissance Festival. MM and I will be taking both our mothers for, what she has deemed, mother and daughter day at the �Huzzah, I�m an idiot faire.� She is derisive now. But I bet, after enough mead or other assorted alcoholic beverages, she can probably be talked into donning a corset and belting out a heartfelt �huzzah!�

All of this 16th century revelry will come after I drag my uncooperative ass out of bed at an ungodly early hour and over to the WW meeting for the obligatory and embarrassingly public weigh in and ra-ra cheerleading shit that comes afterward. This week�s success factor was mixed. The Valentine�s day debauchery started me out on the wrong foot food-wise. For the rest of the week, I�d manage to do well during the day, but then I�d succumb to late night munchies. I didn�t make it to the gym, but I did manage three nights of yoga. I suspect that the scale will not be friendly tomorrow. Ah, well. Nothing to do, except resolve to do better next week.

* * *

In other news today . . . women are now a driving consumer force in the sex industry with a new focus on �female empowered� adult entertainment and products. When asked why, one woman in the industry said: �We�re women. We enjoy sex.� Amen, sistah!



Listening To: Liz Phair, "Good Love Never Dies"
Reading: boring legal crap (don't you all just wish you had my job)
Feeling: happy that it's friday

last entry next entry