caminante haciendo camino
inner goddess: athena
2005-01-11 | 9:33 p.m.

Athena
Origin: Greek
Qualities: war, strategy, handcrafts, wisdom, enlightenment

Although more famous for her dramatic birth (fully grown and armor clad from the head of Zeus) and warrior�s skills, Athena also presides over the peacetime employment of weavers, potters, and all endeavors requiring skill, planning, and execution. Astute, logical, and hardworking, Athena is the consummate strategist. Education and professional achievement are her modern realms.

Describe the work you do now.

I�m a prosecutor. Specifically, I prosecute misdemeanors in courts throughout a rural county in Arizona.

That doesn�t go very far, however, in describing my typical work day. That�s probably because I don�t have a �typical� work day.

Some days I�m more of an investigator � I interview witnesses, I wade through evidence, I discuss the case with the officer, I gather all the facts. Other days, my work consists more of legal analysis � I research legal issues, write motions, formulate legal arguments. Sometimes, my days are spent in the courtroom doing what many think of when they think of prosecutorial work � trying cases to judge or jury. On other days my interactions are all with defendants or their attorneys � negotiating plea agreements, hammering out the specifics of a case, discussing non-trial resolutions.

What (if anything) would you change?

I�d like to make more money. Oh, I make enough. I�m not really lacking for anything. But I don�t make half of what I�d earn if I�d gone into the private sector. A little more money would just make life a bit easier � I�d be able to help my family out more and I�d be able to �play� some more.

It would also be nice if there were someone in this job that would be willing to serve as a mentor. The learning curve is so steep, and even though most of the attorneys in the office are open to specific questions, it would be very helpful to be able to work closely in a one-on-one relationship with an experienced prosecutor.

Eventually, once I have a little more experience, I want to move on to prosecute felonies.

Describe your ideal job in detail: work, environment, schedule, tasks, and salary.

My ideal job � prosecuting high-profile felonies in federal court � organized crime, drug trafficking, major crimes on federal land. The work would be intellectually challenging; my co-workers would be the best in the field. As a federal prosecutor, I�d be making about twice what I am earning now. This, of course, would lead to a judicial appointment.

In the alternative, I�d like to open an independent bookstore in a small community with a caf� and bakery. You always have to have a Plan B.

What steps will take you closer to achieving your dream?

The first step is learning my current job and becoming really good at it. I need to get experience developing air-tight cases and trying cases to a jury.

Once I have a few year�s experience prosecuting at the state level, my plan is to capitalize on my experience as a federal judicial clerk to land a prosecutorial position on the federal level.

Athena�s Mantra: �I plan my work and I work my plan.�




Listening To: Law & Order
Reading: Ancestors of Avalon by Marion Zimmer-Bradley
Feeling: contemplative

last entry next entry