caminante haciendo camino
four days away is too long, even if there's not much to say
2004-03-17 | 9:46 p.m.

I really should be working. But I�m too bothered by the fact that I haven�t updated in four days.

Although, there isn�t much to report other than the fact that work is kicking my ass. And if you�ve been keeping up with the barely bi-weekly updates, you already know that much.

But, since a diary entry wouldn�t be complete without it, I�ll get the requisite work related bitch-fest out of the way, before trying to remember what else has happened in my world in the past four days. I�m still working hellishly long hours. Saturday I was in the office until nearly midnight; Sunday I was there until almost 2:00 a.m.; Monday was another 14 hour day; yesterday I was at the brink of collapse, so I called it quits at 9:00 p.m. Today I headed home at 7:00 in order to grab dinner while watching American Idol. But as soon as I�m done with this update, I�ll be back to work � very likely pulling an all night work marathon, as I need to get this jurisdictional issue worked out tonight. I�m really too damn old for these all-nighters. I�ll probably be knocked flat on my ass all next week. My body doesn�t handle this type of stress well and usually just shuts down after a while. During law school, I could always count on getting sick the week after finals. Shit. Isn�t that something great to look forward to?

I�m still mired in this bitch of a seven weight case. (Brief explanation: our cases are weighted for difficulty between 1 and 10. Most of our cases are either 3 or 5. I (stupidly) volunteered to take the 7 weight this time around. Someone please kick my ass if I ever contemplate doing that again.) I should be done with it by Friday. But that means I�ll still be working all weekend in order to get my last case worked up by Monday. One thought keeps me sane: the chaos will subside come Monday.

In other news, the job search is officially off the ground. I sent my resume to the agency that tops my �List of Places I�d Like to Work come September.� To be honest, it�s the only place on my list right now. Let�s hope they like what they see when the look at that resume. My references will be putting in calls next week. So let�s hope that, even if they�re not stunned by my brilliance as reflected on my resume, they�ll nevertheless be willing to grant me an interview once three federal judges call to sing my praises. Keep your fingers crossed, wish on a star, say a prayer, raise some positive energy, or whatever it is you do. I�ll take all the help I can get.

Finally, I was denied my St. Patrick�s day revelry because of this seemingly insurmountable pile of work. I don�t have one iota of Irish in me. I�m 100% Latina. (Or, at least 75% latina, as I�m not really sure who my father�s father was.) But in any case, I have a penchant for all things Irish. (As I mentioned to walton today when I wished him a Happy Birthday.) I�ve spent years studying Irish history, folklore, literature, and culture. And with my fair skin and red hair, it�s easy for me to get my Irish on. I�ve always said that the gods decided to play a joke when they imbued this Latina with an Irish soul! Confirmed pagan that I am, however, I don�t mark the date in celebration of a missionary stamping out the old ways. Instead I view the date, not as a religious holiday, but as a celebration of all things Irish. In any case, I forewent the traditional post-work Guinness at Seamus McCaffrey�s since I�m not going to have any post-work time until Monday. I did, however, wear my green and my favorite claddagh pin today. I felt better for it, too. I hope everyone had an enjoyable and (most importantly) safe St. Patty�s day.

Now, before I dive back into this pile of work, I must say a hearty thank you to serenaville for adding my to her favorites. She�s a wild read. If you haven�t been there yet, swing by her place. You�ll be glad you did.



Listening To: night sounds
Reading: cases on diversity jurisdiction, oh the joy!
Feeling: cranky

last entry next entry