caminante haciendo camino
my week, my work, my addiction to word games
2004-03-13 | 8:30 p.m.

If any one runs across a life for sale, preferably cheap, let me know. I really need to get me one.

It�s Saturday evening and I�m in the office taking a short dinner break before getting back to work

This past week has been a blur of long days and little progress.

I�ve come to the conclusion that my time management skills suck. A project that I estimate should take me a couple of hours, invariably takes me three times as much time. And I may have adult attention deficit disorder because the littlest thing manages to completely derail my otherwise carefully laid plans for the day.

Unfortunately, to my utter dismay and the complete destruction of the aforementioned carefully laid plans, I discovered a new word game online this week. It�s like Scrabble for one, and if I get fired for not having my bench memos in on time, I might sue the makers of this game for negligent infliction of mind numbing and time sucking word making pleasure, or something like that.

So, as a method of self-flagellation for wasting so much time and in a vain attempt to actually get my bench memos completed on time, I�m not leaving this office until I finish this case.

Part of my problem this week is that I got bogged down in a really complicated case. I should have set it aside mid-week and worked on something else. But, like a dog with a bone, I didn�t want to put it down half finished. I finally had to relent and set it aside until I can get my other memos done and return to it with a fresh perspective.

This week also involved a meeting with one of the judges to talk about getting me a job. This isn�t a judge I�ve worked for. I met her last year while I was working for Judge M. She�s the only latina in this district. She�s fairly new to the bench, but she�s an excellent judge. And, for some reason, she�s always been very willing to help me and to serve as a mentor of sorts. Anyway, we met this week. She�s going to read my cover letter and resume before I send it, and, she�s going to call the powers that be in the agency I want to work for on my behalf. I�ll also ask Judge M and my current judge to call. Hopefully, recommendations from three federal judges will do the trick.

But before all this can happen I have to write that damn cover letter. Egads! I hate writing cover letters almost as much as I hate writing personal statements. There�s no help for it though. Note to self: draft cover letter before Monday rolls around.

Now, in case you needed further proof that I�m a complete law geek:

YOU ARE RULE 11!

You were designed to make sure that attorneys in
federal cases make reasonable inquiries into
fact and law before submitting pleadings,
motions, or other papers. You were a real
hardass in 1983, when you snuffed out all legal
creativity from federal proceedings and
embarassed well-meaning but overzealous
attorneys. You loosened up a bit in 1993, when
you began allowing plaintiffs to make
allegations in their complaints that are likely
to have evidentiary support after discovery,
and when you allowed a 21 day period for the
erring attorney to withdraw the errant motion.
Sure, you keep everything running on the up and
up, but it's clear that things would be a lot
more fun without you around.



Which Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

At least I�m not alone in my law-geekiness. We IM-ed all the clerks in the courthouse until we all had determined what rule we were. I�m the only bitchy Rule 11 � strangely, I�m kinda proud of that fact.

Two things before I wrap this up and get my nose back to this grindstone. First, many thanks to life-my-way for adding me to her favorites list. She�s the originator of fuck me verbing. It works like this: you say �fuck me [insert any verb here].� For example, fuck me loving this woman�s writing and fuck me envying the way she lives her life her way.

Second, in order to make up for that horrible law geekiness earlier, let�s try this one:

You're Tinkerbell!
Tinkerbell



Who 's Your Inner Sexy Cartoon Chick ?
brought to you by Quizilla



Listening To: Gipsy Kings, "Bamboleo"
Reading: Legal Briefs
Feeling: Determined

last entry next entry