caminante haciendo camino
a lighter entry, for a change
2004-05-19 | 3:07 p.m.

For the past four days, a psychotic bird intent on some avian version of hara-kiri has taken up residence on my window sill. And every morning, at the ungodly hour of about 5 a.m., said psychotic bird launches itself, repeatedly, into the window. Thunk. Over and over again. Thunk. Thunk. For hours. Thunk. Thunk. Thunk.

It�s not as if the bird is flying and accidently flies into the window. No. Our little winged weirdo, sits on the window sill, walks back and forth a bit, and then THUNK, launches himself into the window. He shakes himself off. Then he does it again.

I can�t understand it. It has to hurt. And he should have figured out by now that the window is going to win every time. Yet, come early morning, there he is again. Thunk. Thunk. Thunk.

I�m wondering if it has something to do with the slightly reflective tint that�s on the window. Maybe he sees his reflection and he mistakes it for some other bird trying to encroach on his territory.

I don�t know. I just know that today, for the fourth day in a row, I�ve been awakened by the THUNK THUNK THUNK at the window.

I get up and pound on the window until I scare him away. But within fifteen minutes, he�s back at it. Thunk.

Argh. I don�t know what to do about the crazy bird. I�d hate it if the window finally won out for good and I woke up to find little bird brains on my window. I�d much rather live with the repeated THUNKS. But that can�t be healthy for the bird. So, if anyone has any suggestions for dealing with my psychotic, self-flagellating, avian wake-up call, please let me know.

* * *

Admittedly, I don�t know more than the basics when it comes to baseball. But even in my baseball ignorance, I can appreciate the coolness of Randy Johnson�s perfect game yesterday. Johnson, at 40, pitched the 17th perfect game in baseball history. That�s not just cool, it�s seriously cool.

* * *

The online Church of Fools seems to be having trouble with some unruly virtual heathens. Heh. I would think that their moniker would be the bigger problem.

* * *

Shrek 2 opens today. I loved the first and I�m holding high hopes that the sequel won�t disappoint.

I don�t know whether I�m more excited about seeing Shrek 2 or Troy.

What am I saying? Brad Pitt in leather versus green ogres. Mmmm. Brad Pitt in leather.

Ok, Iliad inaccuracies aside, Troy is definitely top on my list.

As much as I�m looking forward to Brad Pitt in leather, I think I may be even more excited about Keira Knightley donning leather as a warrior Guinevere in the most recent version of King Arthur. Make of that what you will. I make no excuses. She�s just beautiful. And, as much as I�m looking forward to Brad Pitt in leather, Keira is objectively sexier than Brad.

Oh, this is going to be a good summer for movies.



Listening To: NPR
Reading: boring legal crap
Feeling: amused

last entry next entry