caminante haciendo camino
yule ramblings
2004-12-21 | 8:35 p.m.

I welcomed the return of the sun last night with a private Yule ritual. I don�t have a fireplace, so I didn�t have a �real� yule log. But I did have the �mini� yule log that my amazing friend, ozarklily sent me. It was just the thing.

It was colder than Donald Rumsfeld�s heart in my apartment last night. So, I was forced to take extreme measures to warm the place up. I baked. No really. It�s not that I wanted dozens of chocolate chip and peanut butter cookies at my immediate disposal. Really.

Anyway, I still have some baking to do before the family�s holiday festivities on Friday. Yes. This pagan celebrates both Yule and Christmas. My Christmas celebrations aren�t religious in nature, though. I think of Christmas as a family holiday and a time to celebrate our family traditions, memories, and development, not as a religious celebration. And, dammit, who can argue with copious amounts of chocolate goodies and gifts?

So, as I was saying, I still have some baking to do. But I decided to take the night off and simply relax. I�ll pick up my spatula again tomorrow night.


This is heartbreaking. The madness continues. Have we forgotten, or do we choose to ignore it? It is rather inconvenient, isn�t it, for all this killing to interrupt our holiday festivities. Come on, people, wake up. Peace on Earth, you say. What planet are you living on?


The Chia Pet. Will someone please explain this to me. It�s been around for as long as I can remember. As an 8 year old child, I recall thinking, who in the hell would want that? I still wonder. Yet, someone must be buying those damn things, because each December they reappear.

They�re frightening, I tell you. Damn frightening.

And, in case it�s not clear, if I ever receive one of those appalling flora clay creatures, I will likely chuck it at the gift-giver�s head. Forewarned is forearmed, people.


I will have to be calling an 8 year old boy to the witness stand to testify how his step-father hit him. I�m not looking forward to this.


I learned today that my office has an Animal Cruelty Task Force. I volunteered to be a part of it. We�ll see if my offer gets taken up.


My fudge flopped. Again. I�ve never been able to make a successful batch of fudge. My love for chocolate, however, compels me to continue trying, and, unfortunately, to continue failing. A chocolate blob does not fudge make. Despite my latest catastrophe, I�m sure I�ll muster the courage to try it again next year. So, if anyone has a guaranteed fool-proof recipe, I�d love to hear from you.


Listening To: Kennedy Center Honors
Reading: same thing as last night
Feeling: content

last entry next entry