caminante haciendo camino
core
2005-04-26 | 2:41 p.m.

I decided to take the plunge today and go Core. �What in the hell is Core?� you ask. Well, earlier this year (or maybe it was last year, I can�t really remember) Weight Watchers introduced a new program. In addition to its traditional point-counting program, you can now do a no-counting eating plan where you stick to a �core� of healthy, low-fat, whole foods.

It seems to be a better way to eat, in general: fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean meats, low-fat dairy and little to no processed foods. You eat all you want, until you are satisfied, but you only eat �core� foods.

I�ve been debating going to the Core plan for some time. But actually making the change was scary. I mean, I �know� how the Points Plan works. I don�t always do it, but I know how it works, I know how to work it, and I know it works when I do what I�m supposed to do.

This �no counting, eat �til you�re full� concept is foreign. If I knew how to stop when I was full I probably wouldn�t have the weight problem that I do. Will I even recognize what �full and satisfied� feels like? And counting points is my yardstick of success � if at the end of the day I�ve written everything down, counted all the points, and stayed within my given range I�ve had a successful on-program day. How will I measure success without points?

On the other hand, I didn�t get fat by eating fruits and vegetables, either.

The Core foods are healthier. You move away from easy, processed, nutritionally devoid foods, and toward a diet consisting of natural, high-fiber, low-fat, nutritionally dense foods.

So, today I decided to switch to the Core plan. So far, so good � lunch was a salad, a banana and pineapple. It was both satisfying and tasty. I�m wondering what foods to take with me for the Beltane weekend � we�ll be camping on Mingus Mountain all weekend, and I don�t want to spend both days cooking, so I want to keep things as simple as possible. I�m sure I�ll figure something out.



Listening To: office buzz
Reading: police reports
Feeling: a bit un-focused

last entry next entry