caminante haciendo camino
goals
2005-01-22 | 8:53 p.m.

I read the goal-setting pages of Dr. Phil�s book several days ago and since then I�ve been thinking about the goals that I want to set for myself. I also found myself putting off actually writing my goals down for fear that I would encounter immediate failure. I was thinking that if I wrote down that my goal was �X,� and then I went and did �-x� (something not likely to help me reach my goal, like not exercising), that would mean absolute and immediate failure. But that�s not really the case. My goals are just that � goals. Something that I aspire to attain; not something that must be true instantaneously. They are a declaration of where I�m going, not a reflection of where I�m at. And, I�ll never get there if I don�t take this first step and articulate my goals. I have to decide where I�m going before I can make my way there.

So, here I am. Thinking about what my goals are. And determined to commit them to writing.

Before writing my goals, however, I decided to do a simple three-card tarot reading to focus my goal-making. Perhaps because it�s my first day of my moontime, but I�ve felt very strongly all day that I needed to do a tarot reading (even though I�ve really neglected my tarot deck for several months now). And incorporating this reading with my goal-setting exercise seemed appropriate.

First card: Ace of Cups

Description: A nude woman gracefully dives into a cup of self-love, water spilling over on to a pair of swans. My thoughts: The woman is strong and graceful and comfortable in her own skin. Her dive indicates a sense of freedom, of letting-go, even of joyfulness. The water represents healing, inside and out, as well as cleansing � a washing away of old thought patterns, old habits. The swans are symbols of beauty � the woman feels beautiful on the inside and that translates to physical, outer beauty.

Second card: 10 of Cups

Description: In and around a waterfall and lake and underneath a rainbow, ten women stand nude with arms upraised; next to them are ten cups; the women appear to be giving thanks, perhaps for a plentiful harvest as the cups appear full. My thoughts: The rainbow is a symbol of hope � of color and beauty following the rain. The other thing that came to mind was the �easiness� of this community of women � they are comfortable with themselves and with one another.

Third card: Three of Swords

Description: Three women are challenging each other with their swords. The women are dressed for battle � swords and shields at the ready. My thoughts: The battle-readiness of the women indicates planning, foresight, strategy, preparedness. Also, preparing for battle means there�s a battle ahead � a challenge approaching, a confrontation (maybe with one�s self?).

The deck I�m using is the Motherpeace Tarot.

With that in mind, I will get back to goal-setting.

With specificity, write what it is you hope to achieve.

I intend to lose weight by doing the work necessary to address the thought-patterns and emotional reasons that are at the root of my weight gain. I intend to eat in a manner that is nutritionally sound, with the focus being the nourishment of my body, by using the WW food plan as a guideline with which to achieve this goal. I intend to honor my body by exercising regularly; I will do yoga every morning, I will do cardio exercise (most likely in the form of walking) four days a week, and I will also do strength training three times a week. I will lose the weight necessary for me to feel strong, healthy, and beautiful � I will be comfortable in my own skin.

Describe what you will do (the behavior or actions you must commence, change, or stop in order to lose weight).

I will make my weight loss goals a priority. This means that I will do this before I do anything else � I will start my day, every day, with yoga; I will exercise first thing when I get home, before doing anything else; I will make the time to prepare healthy, nutritious meals.

�When I lose weight, I want to feel...�

Strong, energetic, beautiful and confident, capable of doing anything that I want to do physically, proud of my accomplishment, comfortable in my own skin.

Break down your goal into manageable, specific steps.

I will use the keys in this book and follow the action steps presented in order to address the issues at the root of my weight problem.

I will walk (or do other cardio exercise) four times a week, immediately after work, before doing anything else.

I will positively manage stress in my life in order to stop overeating in response to stressful events.

I will develop ways of celebrating special occasions that do not revolve exclusively around food.

I will eat foods that nourish my body by following the WW program.

I will maintain a regular yoga practice by doing yoga every morning before work.

I will use journaling as tool for working through the emotional aspects of my weightloss journey.

I will be mindful of the fact that my weightloss journey is an integral aspect of my spiritual journey.

I will learn to love and honor myself at every point in this journey.




Listening To: something on t..v.
Reading: The Ultimate Weight Solution
Feeling: hopeful

last entry next entry