caminante haciendo camino
first entry of 2005
2005-01-02 | 10:38 p.m.

2005 was ushered in quietly. We ordered our now traditional chinese food take-out and had our, also now traditional, decadent AJ�s desserts. We spent the evening watching a sappy chick-flick and then went to bed promptly at 12:08. Obviously, my wild partying days are behind me. Quite a bit behind me.

On New Year�s day, my mom and I went to see Phantom of the Opera. It was excellent. The show will be playing in the Valley in June. As soon as my pocketbook isn�t so strained, I�ll get tickets.

I finally downloaded all of my pictures in my camera, and I organized them.

Here�s one of me and Rianna on Christmas Eve.

And here�s another absolutely adorable picture of Rianna. I watched her for a few hours on New Year�s Eve and when her mom came to pick her up she didn�t want to go. So, here she is �hiding� underneath the covers on my bed.

Isn�t she just beautiful?

She�s also getting too smart for her pull-ups. Today I went by to visit with her for a bit before heading back to Prescott. Of course, this meant that we had to take a walk around the neighborhood � a �walk� means that I�m walking, while she�s being pushed on her new Disney Princess Tricycle. As we were strolling around the neighborhood, she said something � I can�t remember what exactly � but whatever it was, it struck me as quite brilliant for a not-yet-two-year-old. I told her, �Rianna, you�re so smart.� Without hesitation she responds, �I know.� Ha! This child is developing a healthy sense of self-esteem at a very early age!


Today�s poem:

I dwell in Possibility �
A fairer House than Prose �
More numerous of Windows �
Superior � for Doors �

Of Chambers as the Cedars �
Impregnable of Eye �
And for an Everlasting Roof
The Gambrels of the Sky �

Of Visitors � the fairest �
For Occupation � This �
The spreading wide my narrow Hands
To gather Paradise �

by Emily Dickinson




Listening To: the evening news
Reading: poetry
Feeling: content

last entry next entry