caminante haciendo camino
2004, a survey
2004-12-29 | 9:27 p.m.

I horked this survey from Sixweasels. It seemed appropriate for the last week of 2004.

1. What did you do in 2004 that you�ve never done before? I visited places that I had never been to � Louisville, Seattle and Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. I took a job as a prosecutor. I moved to Prescott.

2. Did you keep your New Year�s resolutions, and will you make more for this year? I didn�t make any new year�s resolutions last year. This year, as I�ve been more dedicated to marking the Turning of the Wheel, my �new year� seems to have started with Samhain. As part of my Samhain ritual, I did write down some goals for the coming year. I�ve been using the dark time between Samhain and Yule to meditate on those goals � to plant them firmly within myself, if you will. I�m expecting to see those seeds brought to fruition in the coming year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes. My cousin, Melody, gave birth to her first child on November 29th. A girl � Sophia Noel.

4. Did anyone close to you die? No.

5. What countries did you visit? Canada. My dream trip to Scotland and Ireland didn�t happen and probably won�t happen in 2005 either. Right now I�m shooting for Fall of 2006.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004? The love of a man with whom I share a committed relationship.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched in your memory, and why? I�ll quote sixweasels here: �Election day, because it broke my heart.�

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Tackling the job of a prosecutor head on, with no formal training, even less experience, but a hell of a lot of smarts and enthusiasm.

9. What was your biggest failure? Abandoning my weight loss goals. I gave up on myself. That�s unacceptable.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Nothing beyond the reach of an ibuprofen and a cup of hot tea.

11. What was the best thing you bought? My laptop. But the hot rock massage rates up there too. If you ask Rianna, though, I�m sure she�d say that the best thing I bought was the Disney Princess tricycle she got for Christmas.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Rianna for being the smartest almost-two-year-old I know. (No, no bias here at all.) My mom for unselfishly helping so many. Kerridwen, Sheila, and the others from the Path, for reminding me what a circle of women can mean in my life.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Mostly, GWB�s.

14. Where did most of your money go? Taxes. Mortgage. Other assorted debt. And, �cause a list that ended there would be damn depressing, several wonderful mini-vacations for me and my mom, and one for me and Yesenia.

15. What did you get really, really excited about? My new job. Moving to Prescott. Rianna being almost potty trained.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004? My Immortal by Evanescence.

17. Compared to last year, are you happier or sadder? Happier. Richer or poorer? Decidedly poorer � working for the government does not a rich woman make.

18. What do you wish you�d done more of? Exercised. Writing. Reading. Spend more time with family and friends. Traveling. Relaxing. Saving.

19. What do you wish you�d done less of? Procrastinating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? I already spent Christmas with my family in Tempe. The day was spent opening gifts, eating, drinking, playing with the kids� new toys, eating, cleaning up copious amounts of boxes and wrapping paper, and some more eating.

21. Did you fall in love in 2004? No. Didn�t even fall in lust. Damn sad, I know.

22. How many one-night stands? None. I was completely faithful to my vibrator all year.

23. What was your favorite TV Program? I didn�t watch anything regularly this year.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year? Naah. Hate takes too much effort. There are many I dislike, but none who matter enough to hate.

25. What was the best book you read? The Red Tent.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery? The Three Weird Sisters. Although, technically, I think I discovered them in 2003. But I came to really love them this year. If any of you are into unique, folk-sy, pagan-y music, you have to check them out.

27. What did you want and get? A job as a prosecutor where I was getting immediate trial experience. An increased sense of self-confidence. Some solitude.

28. What was your favorite film this year? Lost in Translation, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and Shrek 2.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 32 in 2004. I went to work, had Greek food for lunch, received a dozen roses, ate delicious chocolate cake, drank a bottle of Riesling, and treated myself to a hot rock massage.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Keeping off the 35 pounds I had lost the year before.

31. What political issue stirred you the most? The war in Iraq.

32. Who did you miss? I missed Jeff, and all the crew from Judge M�s chambers.

33. Who was the best new person you met? Bar none, my friends from the Soup that I met at Carole�s this year � Kerridwen, Sheila, Carole, Miaja, MaryAnne, Erin, Kathy, Laurie � and all the friends from the Path who I haven�t yet had the privilege of meeting in person, yet I know them as sisters of my heart � Rosie, Vicki, Lynelle, Carolan.

34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004. Liking myself and loving myself are not the same thing.

34. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. �Never underestimate a woman with the Goddess in her eyes,� Never Understimate by Emerald Rose.

Listening To: Law & Order
Reading: nothing at the moment
Feeling: satisfied

last entry next entry