caminante haciendo camino
is this a diary or a newsletter?
2004-10-23 | 11:26 p.m.

I really need to be more consistent about writing here. A diary that�s only updated once a month is really more of a newsletter than a diary.

In my defense, however, it�s been one hell of a busy month.

I moved to Prescott. I bought a new bed. I got my cable hooked up. I complained that my internet access wasn�t yet hooked up. I started my new job. I met a lot of new people. I tried really hard to remember all their names. I forgot more names than I remembered. I half-way convinced myself that I�ll be able to do this job. I went back to Phoenix for a week�s worth of training. I learned a lot. The biggest thing I learned is that I have a hell of a lot more to learn. I got sick. I got better.

See? I told you I�ve been busy.

Ok. Let�s break all that down.

The move: It went relatively smoothly. I like my apartment. It�s small, but it works. At least for the time being. After sleeping on the floor for a week, my bed was delivered and my apartment started to feel �livable.� The cable was hooked up quickly, but I didn�t have internet access until today. But I�m not going to complain too much, since I now have high-speed, wireless internet access. So I�m happy.

The job: I think I can. I think I can. I think I can. This will be my mantra until I actually �can.� I�ve been in Phoenix for the past week for basic prosecutorial training. Half way through the first day I started thinking, oh shit, I have no idea what I�m doing. By the second day I was thinking, I�m never going to be able to do this. The training really only served to highlight how much I didn�t know. But, nevertheless, I�ve managed to talk myself back from the edge of panic. I realize that I don�t know what the hell I�m doing. But I also know that I can learn. And I can learn quickly. I�m going to have to learn quickly. I�m scheduled in justice court on Monday morning. My plan? I�m going to fake it. I�m hoping that by working hard, studying long, asking questions, and faking the rest, I�ll be able to achieve some degree of competence before I commit prosecutorial misconduct. I sure as hell hope I�m right.

The sick part: Let�s just say that the toilet and I were one for a few days. No matter. I�m feeling better.

So, now I�m back in Prescott. I�m still getting used to the solitude. I�m enjoying the chilly fall weather. I�m liking this wireless internet access. I�m thinking that I should get to bed soon. I�m trying hard not to worry about being in court Monday morning. And I�m going to work on updating more regularly.


Listening To: CNN
Reading: my DUI handbook
Feeling: slightly anxious

last entry next entry