caminante haciendo camino
update
2004-09-30 | 12:27 a.m.

Ok. An update is obviously in order.

First order of business: Project Get a Damn Job has been completed.

Yup. That�s right. My days of unemployment are numbered.

On October 12th I join the ranks of the Yavapai County Attorney�s Office. I will be in the criminal division, prosecuting those dumb enough to get caught.

I�m excited about the job. It�s going to be one hell of a challenge seeing that this office has little to no formal training program and I have little to no actual trial experience. The training philosophy seems to be �do it wrong until you get it right.� I can deal with that. I�m fairly intelligent. I�m not afraid to ask questions. I�m sure I�ll get the hang of this sooner rather than later. At least that�s what I keep telling myself.

I also had an offer from Maricopa County, with it�s two year training process and set-in-stone procedures, but I chose Yavapia. The attorneys at Yavapai genuinely like their jobs; whereas everyone knows that you only go to Maricopa to do your time and to count the days until you can leave with some experience under your belt. Given the choice, it was clear that Yavapai was the best place for me.

Second order of business: Operation Relocation is in full swing.

I briefly considered the idea of commuting, at least for a few months. But a 1 � to 2 hour drive, each way, would have soon been the death of me.

So, I�m moving to Prescott, Arizona. The town is beautiful � small town feel, with all the conveniences of a major city. It�s generally 15 to 20 degrees cooler than Phoenix, with woods and creeks and high plains. I absolutely love it.

I found a small apartment in a quiet neighborhood in the pines. My plan is to try to do most of the moving on Saturday and Sunday (which, by the way, shoots all to hell my previous plan of attending the Pagan Pride Day festivities this Saturday), so that I have a week to settle in before I start work.

Eventually � 2 or 3 years down the line � we will sell our house here in Tempe and buy somewhere near Prescott. For now though, it�ll just be me moving there. I�m sure that one summer of cooler temperatures will quickly convince the rest of my family that Prescott is the place to be.

In the meantime, I am truly looking forward to the solitude. I�m sure I�ll miss my family, and I�ll likely be down here almost every weekend. But I am really looking forward to living on my own, without a house full of people.

Well, there you have it. I have a job. I�m moving to Prescott. Update complete.



Listening To: nothing
Reading: nothing
Feeling: harried

last entry next entry