caminante haciendo camino
the multi-colored sprinkles of my mind
2004-08-18 | 3:47 p.m.

I keep forgetting about the spoilers. After lunch I normally click over to The New York Times or The Washington Post to take a look at the day�s headlines. But damn if I keep forgetting that the day�s Olympic results are being prominently displayed on both pages. I�ve ruined my night�s worth of Olympic watching two days running now. Bummer.


The Evil Co-Worker has stayed out of my way this week. We are back to the silence and avoidance that was working so well before her psychotic episode last Friday.

Someone reminded me that this is the same person who stuck baby carrots up her nose and then ate them. Obviously, she lacks sound judgment.

I must consider the source then, the next time she gets a stick up her ass and storms into my office with wild accusations.

If that doesn�t work, I still have the marble bookends that I can chuck at her head.


I�ve been gradually working on getting back into weight-loss mode. In the past year and a half, I�ve gained 15 of the 30 pounds I originally lost on WW. Not good.

I need a different approach though. Simply tallying up points is not working for me on a long term basis.

I know what I�m missing. I need to view my weight loss as part of a holistic approach to healthy living.

So I�ve been working on the inside. I�m focusing on eating foods that nourish my body. I�m also rethinking exercise as not merely �exercise,� but as part of my overall spirituality. And I�m making my spiritual work a priority � making time for yoga, meditation, ritual, and study.

Basically, I�m working from the inside out. Not the typical ass-shrinkage plan, I know. But it�s precisely what I need to do.


In ten days I go to California for the weekend to meet up with Sheila and Erin. I�m most excited about seeing them both.


The gainfully-employed countdown continues: 16 days left.

So far I�m managing to keep the panic at bay. It will work out. It will.

I have to keep reminding myself of that.



Listening To: NPR
Reading: boring legal crap
Feeling: thirsty...where's that water bottle?

last entry next entry