caminante haciendo camino
26 days: the reason and my solution
2004-08-09 | 2:01 p.m.

It�s been 26 days since I�ve written anything here. Certainly things have happened, both in my world and in the world at large, that I�ve wanted to write about. But I�ve kept silent. The reason for my silence, I�m sorry to say, is fear.

I don�t feel that this is a safe place to express myself. I have, through both conscious act and inadvertence, revealed far too much of my personal life to feel protected by the shield of anonymity. In addition, there are those who know that this place exists who I would not want to read what I write here. They have said that they would not read without first telling me, but, for a variety of reasons, my level of trust in these individuals � well, really only one individual � has diminished significantly in recent months.

I�ve thought about closing up shop all together, deleting previous entries, and simply calling it quits. But I do enjoy putting words here. And I enjoy reading the words of others. I didn�t think it would be fair to continue reading without offering something to read in return.

So, my solution, at least for a time, is to lock up. I�ll likely do this in the next few days. If you�d like to continue reading what I write in this space, please drop me a note or send me an email, and I�ll be happy to share the password with you.



Listening To: Drew Tretick on the violin...incredible!
Reading: just finished reading The Red Tent....also incredible!
Feeling: satisfied

last entry next entry