caminante haciendo camino
generic pagan friend
2004-05-22 | 4:45 p.m.

I�ve known Redfroggy for nearly two years ago. I met her for the first time last Thursday.

She is one of many friends that I�ve made on another on-line community. Most of these friends are pagan or pagan-friendly (as we�ve come to refer to those in our group who aren�t necessarily pagan, but who are open-minded, tolerant, and just plain nice enough to be a part of our online community).

Redfroggy recently moved to the Phoenix area from the other side of the country because her husband started school here. I can�t imagine how difficult it is to start anew in a wholly different environment, with no family or friends within two thousand miles. She and her husband did just that. He started school. She started a new job. They�ve started settling in.

So, after exchanging emails and phone calls, we finally met last Thursday. We met at a local coffee house. Later we made our way down the street to an Irish pub for some dinner.

We talked for hours. About everything. Family. Work. Being pagan. Who knew. Who didn�t. Why. How. Solitary practice. Covens. No. Maybe.

It was wonderful. She was wonderful.

I�m really looking forward to having a pagan friend in the area. Since I�ve started down this path, nearly two years now, I�ve made my way on my own, with the guidance and support of my online friends, but with no one in the area who I could talk to and share ideas with. No one of a similar mind, walking a similar path. Until now.

And being so averse to labels, I�ve been loath to call myself anything more descriptive than �pagan.� Apparently, Redfroggy is of the same mind on this. She calls herself a �generic pagan.� Heh. I kinda like that.

Listening To: nothing
Reading: sentencing guidelines -- what a wonderful way to spend a saturday, huh?
Feeling: cheerful

last entry next entry