caminante haciendo camino
monday? where the hell did the weekend go?!?!
2004-05-10 | 3:01 p.m.

I think I blinked and missed the weekend. Damn, that went by too fast.

Saturday was spent in a whirlwind of Mothers� Day shopping. And apparently I wasn�t the only one doing last minute shopping because the mall was a mad house.

The best part about Saturday, though, was that on the freeway on my way to the mall, I glanced in my rearview mirror and saw my sister-in-law, Anna, driving behind me. What a weird coincidence! We hadn�t spoken earlier, so we had no idea that we were both headed to the mall, much less the same mall, at the same time. It was very strange.

When we both realized that we were headed in the same direction, she rang me on the cell phone and we decided to have lunch. And, of course, this meant mom and I got to see Rianna. This always makes for a good day, as far as we�re concerned.

After lunch, we headed off in different directions in the mall. Later, though, we ran into Anna and Rianna again, and mom and I stole off with Rianna while Anna finished her shopping. That child ran us ragged. We shopped; we played at the kids� area; we saw the puppies at the pet store; we tried every toy in the toy store. Mom and I were ready to collapse, and Rianna was still bouncing with energy. It was a blast!

On Sunday, we drove to Superior to see Nana and the T�as (Nana�s two sisters). Nana is still goo-goo eyed over Armando. I guess since she didn�t understand whatever God had to say to her, she�s going on the assumption that Armando not a honey-tongued octogenarian player, and is making plans to go to California to �make up.�

.:gagging noises from the ever-cynical granddaughter:.

Afterward, I took my mom, Anna, and Yesenia to afternoon tea for Mothers� Day. Rianna and Carissa enjoyed their first tea. The girls had their own �child�s tea� with PB&J and turkey & cheese finger sandwiches, fruit, and teddy bear cookies. It was all about �playing ladies� for Carissa. Rianna ate her fruit and made mush out of her finger sandwiches. We need to work on her tea manners. Rich made sure to eat �real food� before going to tea, so he wasn�t too put out by the adult fare of scones and finger sandwiches. He did appreciate the desserts, though. Especially those mini eclairs.

I bought all of the moms copies of Maya Angelou�s �Phenomenal Woman� . I think every woman should have her own copy. And read it often.

It was a good weekend. But it sped by too quickly.

So, since the Judge is out of town and I had brought work home with me on Friday (work that I never got to over the weekend), and in an effort to prolong at least the illusion of a weekend, I decided to work from home today. And, to my utter amazement, I�ve actually got quite a bit of work done today. For some reason, the work doesn�t seem quite so onerous when you�re doing it in your pajamas.

* * *

The lengths to which broadcasters are going to stay in the good graces of the FCC are ridiculous. The gestapo morality police FCC now has even the producers of PBS�s �Masterpiece Theater� running scared.

Given that the abuse of detainees is a widespread, systemic problem, you would think that the administration�s time would be better spent policing the morality (or lack there of) of their own policies and officials, rather than being so damn concerned about whether an occasional �shit� or �bitch� goes out over the airwaves. I�m just saying, if you�re going to set yourself out as the moral compass of the world, you had better be damn sure that your own actions are beyond reproach. The administration is still debating whether to release additional and even more harrowing images of abuse, so apparently they still don�t understand this fundamental concept.

* * *

In some much needed lighter news, it seems that fire-roasted penis tastes like chicken. Now you know. And, just so that all the men now clutching their, um, chicken can rest easy, the penis eater has been found guilty.

* * *

Last, but certainly not least, a resounding GRACIAS goes out to marsist and luciab for adding me to their favorites list.



Listening To: nothing
Reading: legal briefs
Feeling: accomplished

last entry next entry