caminante haciendo camino
job search, tongue vibrators, daily rant, and some q&a
2004-04-08 | 1:11 p.m.

Project Get a Damn Job is progressing. Both Judge M and Judge M2 talked with the powers that be and it looks positive. Although, if I do get a job with this agency, I�d likely have to move to Tucson. That�s only 1 � hours away from Phoenix. I can do that.

I�ll be sending my resume to agencies in other western states today, �just in case.� I�ll also be submitting my application with the county prosecutor�s office this weekend. Again, �just in case.�

I don�t want to contact law firms, until I have a better idea whether or not a job with the agency of my choice is going to materialize. I think I�ll wait another month before peddling my soul to the law firms.

Keep your fingers and toes crossed that the job with this agency will work out. I like my soul, I don�t really want to auction it off to the highest bidder.

* * *

This is the great thing about the law and why I loved my district court clerkship so much. It�s so diverse. On day you�re dealing with run of the mill patent cases over who first invented some unexceptional thingamagig (yes, I do believe that�s a technical term) and the next you�re involved in a to-the-death duel of the tongue vibrators. I think the judge needs to take an in camera review of the disputed patented item. If I were her, I would.

* * *

I don� t think anyone was surprised by Condeleeza�s testimony. She offered nothing new. And, really, when everything is going to hell in a handbasket, does it really matter what kind of dance Dr. Clarke um Dr. Rice did this morning? (You know she was pissed that Bob Kerrey kept referring to her as Dr. Clarke, but she was trying not to show it.)

But, misnomers aside, I wish there were more of a focus on the mess this administration has created in Iraq and how to fix it, rather than the 9/11 finger-pointing that�s going on. For all the systemic inefficiencies and missed signals I really don�t think that any administration would have been able to foresee and prevent 9/11. What I can�t forgive this administration for, however, is the unjustifiable, entirely irrational, and (as if starting the damn thing wasn�t bad enough) poorly planned and executed war/occupation in Iraq.

Yesterday I was sad. Today, I�m definitely swinging back toward fucking-mad.

* * *

On a lighter note, this was stolen borrowed horked from citlalli31:

1. Your name spelled backwards. acissej

2. Where were your parents born? Mom in Nogales, Sonora, Mexico; not sure where dad was born, but I think it was Texas.

3. What is the last thing you downloaded onto your computer? update to Turbo Tax last night; yes, I�m procrastinating on doing my taxes � but at least I�m consistent in my procrastination.

4. What's your favorite restaurant? That would have to be restaurants, plural: Pita Jungle, for the best tzatziki and roasted bell pepper/garlic humus; Mi Patio, Abuelos, or Restaurant Mexico for Mexican food; Pizzeria Bianco for pizza; Chopstick Express or Pei Wei for Chinese food; The Copper Kettle for Indian food . . . ok, ok, so we eat out a lot.

5. Last time you swam in a pool? I think it was 3 summers ago when on vacation in Ixtapa, Mexico; I obviously avoid swimming suits like the plague � see question 4.

6. Have you ever been in a school play? Yes. I was a thespian.

7. How many kids do you want? I�m not sure. I�m not even sure that I�ll have any.

8. Type of music you dislike most? Rap.

9. Are you registered to vote? Of course. I once stopped seeing a man because he had never registered to vote. In fact, if you�re not registered to vote, you can�t read my diary any more.

10. Do you have cable? Nope; satellite.

11. Have you ever ridden on a moped? Nope.

12. Ever prank call anybody? In junior high; does that count?

13. Ever get a parking ticket? Yes. My first year at ASU, the cost of my parking tickets rivaled the cost of my books.

14. Would you go bungee jumping or sky diving? Nope.

15. Furthest place you ever traveled? Washington, D.C. How pathetic is that? I need to quick dragging my ass and get my passport so I can become the dynamic world-traveler that I know I am have always wanted to be.

16. Do you have a garden? Yes, but I�m not the gardener, my Mom is. I don�t have a green thumb at all. I make for a really lousy pagan, don�t I? Oh, well. I�m a cityfied pagan.

17. What's your favorite comic strip? In an effort to redeem my "good pagan" status, I'll have to say Oh My Gods!

18. Do you really know all the words to your national anthem? Yes, but I can only sing them out of tune.

19. Bath or Shower, morning or night? Shower. Morning. I�m not really awake until I�ve showered and had a cup of coffee.

20. Best movie you've seen in the past month? I�ve been working like a fiend and haven�t seen many movies in the past month. But I did see Veronica Guerin and liked it.

21. Favorite pizza topping? Fresh basil, mozzarella, and tomatoes, or mushrooms, lots and lots of mushrooms.

22. Chips or popcorn? Popcorn.

23. What color lipstick do you usually wear? Creamy nude.

24. Have you ever smoked peanut shells? Nope. Do people really smoke peanut shells?

25. Have you ever been in a beauty pageant?Hell no. Side note: I can�t be the only person who is deeply disturbed by the latest reality show, The Swan. That shit is just wrong, people.

26. Orange Juice or apple? Orange. But I prefer not to �waste� calories on juice. If I�m going to �waste� calories, it�s gonna be on chocolate, dammit!

27. Who was the last person you went out to dinner with and where did you dine? Mom. In Seattle. A place called Dehlia�s Lounge. We ended up having dessert for dinner, but we had milk with it so it was nutritious.

28. Favorite type chocolate bar? Hershey�s with Almonds or Dove Dark Chocolate.

29. When was the last time you voted at the polls? February, for the primary elections. I voted early because I was going to be out of town on election day.

30. Last time you ate a homegrown tomato? Last summer.

31. Have you ever won a trophy? Yes, but for nerdy things like accounting competitions.

32. Are you a good cook? Yes. My tortilla soup is the best to be had. I just don�t have time to cook often.

33. Do you know how to pump your own gas? Yes. But in high school, my drama teacher didn�t. Whenever her husband was out of town, she�d drive the extra five miles and pay the premium for an attendant to pump her gas. I thought it was ridiculous at the time. Now it seems sort of sad.

34. Ever order an article from an infomercial? Yes. I�m a sucker for those damn things. My credit cards should be locked in a safe whenever I�m battling insomnia by watching t.v. at 2 a.m.

35. Sprite or 7-up? Doesn�t matter. But if I�m going to drink a clear liquid I prefer water.

36. Have you ever had to wear a uniform to work? No. But in 10 years I�m sure this business suit is going to start to feel a hell of a lot like a uniform.

37. Last thing you bought at a pharmacy? tampons (aren�t you glad you asked).

38. Ever throw up in public? Not that I can personally recall. But I was told that I did two years ago at our law school�s Fajita Cook-Off. Too much tequila. All I remember is waking up in a strange house with someone else�s clothes on. Thank the gods for good friends who look out for you when your intent on making an ass out of yourself. (I�ll be forever in Javier and Melissa�s debt for dealing with me that night.)

39. Would you prefer being a millionaire or find true love? Love. But finding true love with a millionaire would truly be the best of all possible worlds. No, really, if I had to choose, I�d choose love. Deep down, I�m a sap.

40. Do you believe in love at first sight? No. I believe in lust at first sight, but it�s not the same thing.

41. Ever call a 1-900 number? No.

42. Can exes be friends? I can�t be friends with my exes. They�re exes for a reason. But others seem to pull it off.

43. Who was the last person you visited in a hospital? T�a Eva, about a year ago.

44. Did you have a lot of hair when you were a baby? Nope. I was bald. But I was damn cute. Rianna�s is bald, too. She looks a lot like both me and Rich when we were little. She�s damn cute, too.

45. What message is on your answering machine? For some reason, my message is gone and it�s just the standard �you have reached 555-1234.� I�ll have to re-record it when I have time. But, even my message is pretty standard, �we�ve missed your call, leave a message, blah, blah, blah.�

46. What's your all time favorite Saturday Night Live Character? I�ve never been a huge SNL fan, so I don�t know or remember them all. But the one that stands out is the Church Lady.

47. What was the name of your first pet? Lobo. He was a great German Shepherd.

48. What is in your purse? It�s more a briefcase/purse. Currently it holds: wallet with i.d. and assorted credit cards, coin purse with about $20 cash, check book, compact, lipstick, lipgloss, carmex, comb, floss, excedrin, tums, keys, lotion, antibacterial stuff, shout stain remover cloths, hair clip, eye glass cleaner, sunglasses, cell phone, note book, assorted business cards, several pens, highlighter, post-it tabs, 2 magazines, last week�s mail that I haven�t gone through yet, resume, job search file. Tonight it will also hold whatever work I take home to do after dinner. Geez. I didn�t realize I hauled so much crap around with me.

49. Favorite thing to do before bedtime? Have sex. If a sex partner isn�t readily available, then masturbate. Before either of those two, I usually read.

50. What is one thing you are grateful for today? My family. I complain about them, but they�re pretty damn terrific.

Listening To: Something by Dead Can Dance
Reading: INS v. Ventura (working on my immigration opinion)
Feeling: nervous but slightly more positive about the job search; mad as hell at the administration

last entry next entry