caminante haciendo camino
work is done, let the good times begin
2004-04-01 | 1:08 p.m.

My work week in Seattle is just about over. This morning was our last day of oral argument. I managed to get stuck with another two opinions. This means that when I get back to the office, I�ll have four opinions to write. This is both good and bad. Every law clerk wants to have the opportunity to pen at least a few opinions. It is the way in which we make our mark on the law of the circuit. On the other hand, they are very time consuming and require much more work than a simple two or three page disposition of the case.

I�ve had a string of strange luck when it comes to picking cases that later require an opinion. Thus far, out of every calendar, I�ve had two cases that required an opinion. That�s six opinions for me so far. On the other hand, MM has only had one case go to opinion. Like I said, this is both good and bad. I�ll try to concentrate on the �good,� but as soon as I�m knee deep in the work for next calendar and still trying to pound out opinions, I�m sure I�ll be vociferously complaining about my work load.

But, for this week at least, the work is almost done. As soon as the judges conference and MM and I talk to the Judge about the disposition of today�s cases, I�m officially on my work-free, fun-filled long weekend. Woo-Freakin�-Hoo!

I�m taking advantage of all this work-related travel to show my mom around a bit too. I bought her an airline ticket so that she could join me in Seattle this weekend. Her plane just landed and she�ll be at the hotel by the time I wrap things up here. This afternoon we�ll be heading over to the Seattle Art Museum, then it�ll be an oyster bar for dinner. Or, rather, it�ll be oysters for dinner for Mom. I don�t touch the slimy creatures. Yuck! I�m sure there will be some slime-free options on the menu, though.

Tomorrow we are going to hit all of the Seattle tourist spots like the Pike�s Market and the Space Needle. Then on Saturday I�ve booked us on a day trip to Victoria, British Columbia and the Butchart Gardens.

Although I�ve been here all week, I�ve seen very little of the city other than the hotel, the courthouse, and the short walk between the two. I�m looking forward to playing tourist for the next few days and seeing more of Seattle.



Listening To: MM's furious typing
Reading: online news
Feeling: satisfied that work is done; excited about the weekend in Seattle

last entry next entry