caminante haciendo camino
fucked around by the appliance gods
2004-02-01 | 1:52 a.m.

I've finally finished packing. Tomorrow I leave for California and a week of oral argument. I know I've packed way too much, but I'm just too tired to try to do a better job of it.

Today was my first day off since January 4th and I think I blinked and missed it. It was a busy day.

We celebrated Rianna's first birthday. It was too cold for an outdoor party. But it didn't stop us. The poor birthday girl was not looking too amused by late afternoon. She was cold and tired. Although she did seem to enjoy playing with her birthday cake. Big fistfuls of cake and frosting are sure to make any child happy. Geez, I just can't believe that she's a year old already. Where in the hell did the last 12 months go?

After the party I came home to do laundry and pack. The pile of laundry in my room was getting just about large enough to qualify as a small mountain range. But, just to round out the fantastic month I've had, the appliance gods decided to play a little joke on me. The goddamn washer broke in the middle of my first load of laundry. After a few minutes of pushing various buttons with no response from the machine, I packed up my dirty laundry and headed to my aunt Helen's house to do my washing there. My sheets are still sitting in a washing machine full of water, but at least I got the essentials washed.

My mom will have to take care of getting the washing machine fixed this week. The damn thing is brand new. I bought it last month. So whatever is wrong with it ought to be covered by the warranty. It's just a huge pain in the ass. And the timing really sucked.

Well, since I have to wake up early to get to the airport, I better try to get some sleep. I know that I really didn't have much to say. But this journal has become somewhat of a compulsion. That's just the way I am. I tend to get obsessive about things.



Listening To:
Reading:
Feeling:

last entry next entry