caminante haciendo camino
a list and the friday five
2004-01-30 | 2:23 p.m.

This list was copied from jorod74, who copied it from golfwidow. Apparently, the way it works is you copy the list, bold what you have in common, and change the rest. If anyone is so inclined, feel free to copy/bold/change as well, just leave me a note and let me know if you do, so I can take a gander.

1. I like musicals.

2. I must drink at least one cup of coffee every morning. If I don�t I get a horrible headache. It�s an addiction, I know. But it�s one I�m willing to live with.

3. I like to read.

4. I see room for improvement.

5. I like most vegetables, except for peas.

6. If all goes as planned, I will be vacationing in Ireland and Scotland this Fall.

7. I have some regrets, but I know I can't change the past.

8. I wear glasses almost all the time. I had worn glasses since grade school, until I had surgery to fix my eyes. The surgery worked until the mass amounts of reading I had to do in law school fucked up my vision again. So now I�m back to wearing glasses. But I kinda like my face in glasses.

9. I enjoy cooking, but I don�t have enough time to do it regularly.

10. I recently joined Netflix, and it has quickly become an obsession.

11. I miss true Saturday morning cartoons.

12. I�ve never been to a strip club, although I have done a one night tour of the area�s swingers club, with my best male friend, and just to appease our overwhelming curiosity.

13. I never had a roommate in college.

14. My favorite colors are red, purple and green.

15. I am a lawyer. I enjoy my job and I�m good at it. I can also appreciate a good lawyer joke.

16. I enjoy a variety of musical styles.

17. I like to spend a lot of time by myself.

18. I have no opinion about CMT, but I'm not saying I seek it out either.

19. I want to travel (some of) the world.

20. I haven't seen The Godfather trilogy.

21. I've seen many a sunrise, some from getting up early and some from being up all night.

22. Winters where I live are not cold; the weather here is perfect from November through April; after that it�s pure hell.

23. I love tea.

24. I should volunteer more.

25. My biggest vice is food.

26. I am creative, yet unable to do anything shown on DIY.

27. I am my own worst critic.

28. I have a large extended family and I�m generally close to them.

29. I am not a perfectionist. I forgive others their faults more easily than I forgive myself.

30. If a book is really badly written, I can't bring myself to waste time on it. If it's just that it's not interesting to me, I'll force myself to wade through it.

31. I stare at the moon and find peace in it.

32. I love baby animals.

33. I have no use for pretentious people.

34. I enjoy being in my 30s.

35. I dislike bigotry, racism, and general meanness, and I speak out against it as I encounter it, but I also recognize it � and despise it � in myself occasionally, which leads me to believe that sometimes we (collectively) just aren't a very nice species.

36. I am not as wealthy as I'd like to be.

37. I am registered Democrat, but my personal politics don�t always fall down party lines.

38. I am by nature introverted, but, by professional necessity, I have learned to be somewhat more extroverted.

39. My parents divorced when I was a toddler, and my father died when I was 10.

40. I follow till I know my way. Then I just go. If anyone wants to tag along, they're welcome; if not, I'm not upset.

41. I really enjoy thoughtful gifts, even if they cost nothing.

42. I smile and laugh often.

43. I have no children.

44. I am not normally overemotional, but I often cry at movies.

45. I need to have more patience with others.

46. I am generally confident and self-assured.

47. I know I'm too fat, but I still don't want a body like J.Lo. See how much happiness her body isn't bringing her?

48. I pay a personal trainer an inordinate amount of money to kick my ass in the gym several times a week.

49. I obsess when my computer isn't working right.

50. In High School, I was a drama and debate geek. But my favorite thing was theater production. I think I just liked using power tools and being the only girl on the stage crew.

51. I like silence at times.

52. I've made up my own religion. It's highly disorganized.

53. I possess a high IQ.

54. I procrastinate a lot.

55. My dad was a Vietnam veteran. He never talked about it, though.

56. I am terrified of small crawly creatures with more legs than are necessarily useful for any purpose other than scaring otherwise sensible people.

57. I still enjoy coloring books and crayons.

58. I have so much on my plate I often become overwhelmed.

59. I am not a member of the mile high club.

60. I speak Spanish and some Portuguese. And I plan on learning Italian this year.

61. I work for the federal government. What they say is true, the benefits are good, but the pay sucks.

62. I have always striven to do what's right, but it doesn't always happen that way.

63. I overreact about things sometimes.

64. I surround myself with really great people. (Even if that means I'm alone sometimes.)

65. I don't always remember my dreams if I wake up naturally (as opposed to being jarred awake by the alarm clock).

66. I like to people-watch.

67. I like silly people.

68. I once had a tropical aquarium, but I killed all the fish due to my neglect.

69. I have never camped out overnight in line for concert tickets.

70. I have smoked pot, and found it overrated.

71. I love jewelry, but wear only a few cherished pieces, as opposed to covering myself with bling-bling.

72. I love candles.

73. I love my online friends.

74. I am learning more about spirituality.

75. I hate hurting others.

76. I wish I knew how to let go.

77. I have an issue with needing approval and wanting to be liked by the people whose opinions I respect most, but when someone I don't like tells me they don't like me, I take it as a compliment.

78. �Casablanca� is one of my favorite movies; so is �Braveheart.�

79. My mom and I have a great relationship. I consider her one of my best friends.

80. I love children, but am too selfish to be a mother right now.

81. I own a vibrator. In fact, I own several. I don�t own a rabbit. I�d like to, though.

82. My boobs are natural.

83. I am not a morning person.

84. Chocolate can sometimes be better than sex. But it has to be really, really good chocolate.

85. I enjoy driving, especially by myself.

86. I daydream frequently.

87. I once broke up with a man because he wasn�t registered to vote.

88. I have never been spanked by a lover. If I want pain during sex, I'll just throw out my knee or something.

89. I highly dislike spiders, but my aversion to them does not rise to the level of terror.

90. I am easily annoyed.

91. I am easily amused.

92. I'm ready for this list thing to be over.

93. I think Michael Jackson is guilty.

94. I have a lot of people I�m friendly with, but few I consider close friends. But once you�re my friend, I�m fiercely loyal.

95. I have some secrets.

96. I don't always appreciate honesty. Sometimes I'd prefer a white lie than to know the truth and have it hurt my feelings, especially if it's about something beyond my control to change.

97. I like to help people.

98. I love my men smart, funny, and taller than me.

99. I buy things for people just because.

100. I'm glad this is done!

* * *

And, because today is obviously the day for meaningless diary entries, here�s The Friday Five:

You have just won one million dollars:

1. Who do you call first? My Mom.

2. What is the first thing you buy for yourself? A bottle of champagne to celebrate.

3. What is the first thing you buy for someone else? New cars for both Mom and brother.

4. Do you give any away? If yes, to whom? Yes. To family, law school scholarship fund, and various charities.

5. Do you invest any? If so, how? Yes. Stocks, probably. But first I�d get the advice of someone who knows significantly more than I do about financial investments.

Listening To:
Reading:
Feeling:

last entry next entry