caminante haciendo camino
anything for sleep and some trust
2004-01-14 | 11:13 p.m.

As far as legal jobs go, they don�t get much better than mine. I�m working for a nationally respected appellate judge. I get to work on a wide spectrum of (generally) interesting legal issues. I have the opportunity to influence (if even to a small degree) the formation of law. And, this job will look damn good on a resume.

So, I really can�t complain about the occasional periods of utter chaos that are visited upon me. But I don�t have to like them. This makes the third night in a row that I�m in the office in the middle of the damn night. I�m not going to whine about it again . . . I�m only going to say that night should be for sleeping, not working and I�ve gotten to the point on the sleep deprivation scale that I�d be willing to do just about anything for six or so hours worth of shut eye. I should probably be worried that such a heightened level of desperation leaves me vulnerable to do things that I otherwise wouldn�t if only promised a soft pillow afterwards. But I�m too tired to muster up much concern. So, if you must, take advantage, but please, someone have mercy and let me sleep in tomorrow.

Ok, that�s all. The daily whine is over.

This picture was in today�s paper. I don�t mention it simply to inspire green spurts of jealously in all of you locked in the cold grip of winter. No, it�s the picture that grabbed me. Isn�t that the very essence of trust? I loved it. There aren�t too many people in this world that I trust so completely as that little boy does his grandfather. Those people who you just know will catch you no matter what are hard to come by. Here�s hopping everyone has at least one . . .

~Jess.

Listening To:
Reading:
Feeling:

last entry next entry